Breaking: WWE Legend Dusty Rhodes Passes Away

Normally I will blog about football, but this is going to be my first wrestling-based blog. On a personal note, I started watching WWE accidentally back in 2005. Accidentally? Yes, I discovered my local CBS station played a repeat of WWE Thursday Night Smackdown! Saturday Nights at 11:30 p.m. I didn’t have UPN, sadly, as Direct TV didn’t have it, so my local station showing it was a blessing. I watched Smackdown! consistently for months until I watched RAW for the first time.I told my mom about me watching wrestling and she let me watch some old tapes she had of the (then) WWF. Among the matches on those tapes were matches from the 1990 Royal Rumble, Saturday Night’s Main Event, The Main Event, and Superstars. The wrestler that stood out to me the most on the tape was a wrestler who went by the name “The American Dream” Dusty Rhodes with manager Saphire and catchy entrance music, and, oh, yeah, polka-dotted tights. He had an amazing in-ring ability for a big guy and a charisma I had never seen before, and also had the ability to really do an interview. Later on I had discovered the history of Dusty and got his DVD set at Walmart for just $5. I loved watching his matches (especially with the “Nature Boy”, Ric Flair in the NWA). I remember back in the 2006-2009 era Dusty came in and did some matches and was inducted into the WWE HOF in 2007. Dusty’s story definitely inspired me as he was the son of a plumber who broke his way into the business. Hearing the last part of his HOF speech almost brought me to tears…the happy kind, but today tears are shedding for the other reason.; sadly, the man in the polka-dotted tights passed away today at the age of 69. Dusty survived by his wife and 4 kids including sons Cody and Dustin Runnels (who also are wrestlers in their own right).RIP Dusty, you will be missed.

Leave a Reply

